ShareThis

Posts Tagged ‘New York City’

Pest Control Violation Letter Is A Scam

A statement was made by assistant commissioner Mario Merlino alerting new yorkers about a “vermin control of new york” letter scam.

New York City Health Department Assistant Commissioner for Pest Control and Veterinary Services Mario Merlino today alerted New York City residents about a scam involving fake pest control violation notices issued by “Vermin Control of New York.” These fraudulent notices look like they are issued by the Health Department and are signed by a former Department of Buildings Commissioner. The notice demands payment for alleged “assessment and eradication of vermin” in the amount of $120. The Health Department is investigating these notices and has referred the matter to the City’s Department of Investigation. Any New Yorker receiving a notice should immediately contact 311.

“Unscrupulous people are mailing fraudulent violation notices acting as the Health Department’s Division of Pest Control,” said Assistant Commissioner for Pest Control Services Mario Merlino. “New Yorkers should know that the Health Department never issues a notice of violation demanding immediate payment. Our notices of violation allow New York City residents to address any violations and they can be contested at an official hearing. We ask New Yorkers to immediately contact 311 or the Health Department if they have received a letter from “Vermin Control of New York;” with their help we can stop these tactics.”

In this particular scam, a letter from the “Vermin Control of New York” is sent via U.S. mail to an unsuspecting property owner. The notice is printed on a fake NYC Health Department letterhead and claims to originate from “Rodent Control Program Assessment.” The letter requests immediate payment for specified amounts ranging from $120 through $280 to be mailed to “Vermin Control of New York” at 1255 150th Street, Whitestone, NY 11357. The notice also says “This violation cannot be contested or challenged.”

A notice of violation cannot result in a fine or penalty without there being an opportunity to contest it in a hearing. Further, the Health Department never requests that it, or its programs, be paid directly for violations it issues. A copy of a fraudulent notice of violation can be found below.

We ask the public to be alert to this scam.

 

Be the first to comment - What do you think?  Posted by hnouri - September 2, 2016 at 3:24 pm

Categories: Community Information, General Articles, Public Notice   Tags: , , ,

[MARBLE HILL] Bronx Chamber Hosts ID Theft Prevention Event

[MARBLE HILL] Bronx Chamber Hosts ID Theft Prevention Event

See this story at BxTimes.com.

By Robert Wirsing

Bronx Times

The Bronx Chamber of Commerce and Country Bank hosted a networking event addressing how residents can prevent themselves from becoming victims of identity theft and ATM fraud on Wednesday, June 29 at Applebee’s in Riverdale. NYPD Sergeant Ray Morales served as guest speaker for the informative meeting and gave advice on how to avoid the latest scams.

Sergeant Morales (c) showed the audience the Green Dot redownloadable debit cards which are used by many scammers.Photo by Miriam Quin

Comment on this story.

Source: Bronx Times Reporter

Be the first to comment - What do you think?  Posted by Bronx Times - July 12, 2016 at 12:00 am

Categories: Community Information, General Articles, Small Business   Tags: , , ,

A Blood Shortage in NYC

The following letter from Stacey Cumberbatch, the ‎Commissioner at NYC Department of Citywide Administrative Services, was recently sent out to city agencies throughout the NYC area.  The links below are intended for city employees. To find a donor location for the general public in or near The Bronx, please visit the NY Blood Drive search page.

————————–

Dear Co-Workers,

The recent inclement weather has led to a mass cancellation of blood drives across our region with more than 3,000 scheduled donations lost the largest single loss since Superstorm Sandy.

The New York City Blood Program has always depended on City workers in helping to maintain our area’s blood supply. Last year nearly 42,000 life-saving blood donations were made by City employees. It’s a record we can all be proud of which is why I am asking you to consider donating now.

Donating blood takes less than one hour and has the potential to save up to three lives! City employees with O-negative blood type, or “universal donors,” are especially encouraged to donate, as your blood can be used in emergencies.

The NYC Employee Blood Program holds blood drives almost every day at City agencies throughout the five boroughs. Visit city locations to see a list of drives taking place over the next couple weeks. Or, you can call (800) 933-BLOOD (2566) or visit nybloodcenter.org.

Thank you for your support of this vital cause.

DCAS Commissioner Stacey Cumberbatch
Chair of the NYC Employee Blood Program

————————–

 

 

Be the first to comment - What do you think?  Posted by hnouri - February 9, 2015 at 11:44 am

Categories: Community Information, General Articles, Public Notice   Tags: ,

Fines, Fines And more Fines!

A message from John Bonizio (Small Business Owner, Bronx NY):

Attention All New York City Small Business Owners

The Mayor and the City Council are coming after small businesses in a two front assault: an unprecedented minimum wage hike and a back door investigation and fining system (disguised as an expansion of the sick pay law).
Three very important events happened this week in City Hall that you should be aware of:
  1. Mayor DeBlasio proposed fines on small businesses by DOH, DCA, and ECB that are in excess of $135 million for the year, exactly the same amount he criticized Bloomberg for in his widely publicized report during his campaign for mayor:http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/small-businesses-hit-fines-de-blasio-budget-article-1.1615141
  2. Expansion and revision of the Earned Sick Pay law was given a “hearing” yesterday. More than a dozen council-members came to hear the Mayor’s people speak and then abruptly left the council chamber when it was time for the assembled business leaders to speak in opposition:http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/advocates-argue-sick-pay-bill-sparse-city-hall-crowd-article-1.1615182. 

    In addition, the bill to revise the law and allow DCA to review the payroll records of every business in NYC has received the support of so-called friends of small business (6 of them are from the Bronx: Vacca, Torres, Palma, Gibson, King and Cohen). See the full list of supporters below.

  3. Council Speaker Viverito stuck around for a rally however, that touts a huge minimum wage increase:http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/workers-rally-city-hall-increase-city-minimum-wage-article-1.1615307

If we remain silent to this assault – if we continue to support these politicians who do not recognize that we are their constituents too – we will become the unhappy ending in a tale of two cities! Speak up before its too late. Call, email, approach your local council-member and remind him/her that you are opposed to this type of discrimination. For your convenience, a copy and paste list of all 51 council members is below.

The signed-on supporters of the bill, (Intro 1) are: Council Members Chin, The Speaker (Council Member Mark-Viverito), Cohen, Constantinides, Cornegy, Crowley, Cumbo, Dromm, Eugene, Ferreras, Johnson, Kallos, King, Koo, Koslowitz, Lancman, Lander, Levin, Levine, Menchaca, Miller, Reynoso, Richards, Rodriguez, Rose, Rosenthal, Torres, Van Bramer, Barron, Espinal, Gibson, Palma, Dickens, Maisel, Mendez, Williams and Vacca (by request of the Mayor and the Manhattan Borough President).

Telephone & District List by borough of all 51 council-members

BRONX
FIRST NAME LAST NAME DISRICT BOROUGH TELE #
FERNANDO CABRERA 14 BX 347-590-2874
MARIA DEL CARMEN ARROYO 17 BX 718-402-6130
VANESSA L. GIBSON 16 BX 718-588-7500
ANDREW COHEN 11 BX Riverdale Office (718) 549-7300
Norwood Office (718)  882-4000 x 353
ANNABEL PALMA 18 BX 718-792-1140
RITCHIE TORRES 15 BX 718-842-8100
ANDY KING 12 BX 718-684-5509
JAMES VACCA 13 BX 718-931-1721
BROOKLYN
FIRST NAME LAST NAME DISRICT BOROUGH TELE #
INEZ BARRON 42 BKLYN 718-649-9495
RAFAEL ESPINAL 37 BKLYN 718-642-8664
MATHIEU EUGENE 40 BKLYN 718-287-8762
ALAN MAISEL 46 BKLYN 718-241-9330
VINCENT J. GENTILE 43 BKLYN 718-748-5200
CARLOS MANCHACA 38 BKLYN 718-439-9012
DAVID G. GREENFIELD 44 BKLYN 718-853-2704
LAURIE CUMBO 35 BKLYN 212-788-7082
BRAD LANDER 39 BKLYN 718-499-1090
STEPHEN LEVIN 33 BKLYN 718-875-5200
DARLENE MEALY 41 BKLYN 718-953-3097
CHAIM M. DEUTSCH 48 BKLYN 718-368-9176
MARK TREYGER 47 BKLYN 718-373-9673
ANTONIO REYNOSO 34 BKLYN 718-963-3141
ROBERT CORNEGY 36 BKLYN TBA
JUMAANE D. WILLIAMS 45 BKLYN 718-629-2900
MANHATTAN
FIRST NAME LAST NAME DISRICT BOROUGH TELE #
HELEN ROSENTHAL 6 NYC 212-873-0282
MARGARET CHIN 1 NYC 212-587-3159
INEZ E. DICKENS 9 NYC 212-678-4505
DANIEL R. GARODNICK 4 NYC 212-818-0580
MARK LEVINE 7 NYC 212-928-6814
BEN KALLOS 5 NYC 212-860-1950
MELISSA MARK VIVERITO 8 NYC 212-828-9800
ROSIE MENDEZ 2 NYC 212-677-1077
COREY JOHNSON 3 NYC 212-564-7757
YDANIS RODRIGUEZ 10 NYC 917-521-2616
QUEENS
FIRST NAME LAST NAME DISRICT BOROUGH TELE #
I. DANEEK MILLER 27 QNS 718-776-3700
ELIZABETH CROWLEY 30 QNS 718-366-3900
DANIEL DROMM 25 QNS 718-803-6373
JULISSA FERRERAS 21 QNS 718-651-1917
RORY LANCMAN 24 QNS 718-217-4969
PAUL VALLONE 19 QNS 718-619-8611
PETER KOO 20 QNS 718-888-8747
KAREN KOSLOWITZ 29 QNS 718-544-8800
DONOVAN RICHARDS JR. 31 QNS 718-471-7014 ROCKAWAY
718-527-4356 LAURELTON
ERIC ULRICH 32 QNS 718-738-1083
COSTA CONSTANTINIDES 22 QNS 718-274-4500
JIMMY VAN BRAMER 26 QNS 718-383-9566
MARK WEPRIN 23 QNS 718-468-0137
RUBEN WILLS 28 QNS 718-206-2068
STATEN ISLAND
FIRST NAME LAST NAME DISRICT BOROUGH TELE #
VINCENT IGNIZIO 51 S.I. 718-984-5151
STEVEN MATTEO 50 S.I. 718-980-1017
DEBORAH ROSE 49 S.I. 718-556-7370

Emails for all council-members

amaisel@council.nyc.gov; acohen@council.nyc.gov; aking@council.nyc.gov; apalma@council.nyc.gov; areynoso@council.nyc.gov; bkallos@council.nyc.gov; blander@council.nyc.gov; cmenchaca@council.nyc.gov; cdeutsch@council.nyc.gov; cjohnson@council.nyc.gov; cconstantinides@council.nyc.gov; ddromm@council.nyc.gov; dgarodnick@council.nyc.gov; dmealy@council.nyc.gov; dgreenfield@council.nyc.gov; drose@council.nyc.gov; drichards@council.nyc.gov; ecrowley@council.nyc.gov; eulrich@council.nyc.gov; fcabrera@council.nyc.gov; hrosenthal@council.nyc.gov; imiller@council.nyc.gov; ibarron@council.nyc.gov; idickens@council.nyc.gov; jvacca@council.nyc.gov; jvanbramer@council.nyc.gov; jferreras@council.nyc.gov; jwilliams@council.nyc.gov; kkoslowitz@council.nyc.gov; lcumbo@council.nyc.gov; mchin@council.nyc.gov; marroyo@council.nyc.gov; mlevine@council.nyc.gov; mtreyger@council.nyc.gov; mweprin@council.nyc.gov; meugene@council.nyc.gov; mviverito@council.nyc.gov; pvallone@council.nyc.gov; pkoo@council.nyc.gov; respinal@council.nyc.gov; rtorres@council.nyc.gov; rcornegy@council.nyc.gov; rlancman@council.nyc.gov; rmendez@council.nyc.gov; rwillis@council.nyc.gov; slevin@council.nyc.gov; smatteo@council.nyc.gov; vgibson@council.nyc.gov; vgentile@council.nyc.gov; vignizio@council.nyc.gov; yrodriguez@council.nyc.gov

 

 

Be the first to comment - What do you think?  Posted by hnouri - February 17, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Categories: General Articles, Small Business   Tags: , , , , ,

NYS Home Owner Alert – Your STAR Real Estate Tax Rebate will Expire Soon!

New York State is now requiring all Homeowners that have already registered in the STAR Real Estate Tax Rebate Program to re-register on their Primary Residence. If you earn less than $500,000, you are eligible for the BASIC STAR Rebate. If you do not register before December 31, 2013 you may lose your tax reduction benefits.

If you are not familiar with the new registration procedure, don’t worry, the Bronx Tax Man will help you get re-registered fast.  Give them 20 minutes and they will make sure you continue to receive your real estate tax rebate, completely FREE OF CHARGE.  This offer is available until October 1st.

To schedule an appointment, call the Bronx Tax Man at (718) 829-1040 or to schedule an appointment in person, stop by the office at 3707 East Tremont Ave., Bronx NY 10465.

Senior Citizens with enhanced STAR are not subject to the new registration process and must continue to apply annually like they have in the past.

Be the first to comment - What do you think?  Posted by hnouri - August 27, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Categories: Community Information, Consumer Deals, General Articles, Public Notice, Real Estate   Tags: , , , ,

Next Page »