ShareThis

Posts Tagged ‘Business Tips’

Job Fair Attracts 1,000 Job Seekers

The lines were long and hopes high at a local job fair organized by Assemblyman Luis Sepulveda on Wednesday, April 5 at the Sonia Sotomayor Community Center in Soundview.

The event drew up to 1,200 job seekers and 72 potential employers from government and private agencies and organizations, retailers, hospitals and healthcare organizations, educational institutions and general contractors among many others.

See this story at BxTimes.com.

By Robert Wirsing

Source: Bronx Times Reporter

Be the first to comment - What do you think?  Posted by Bronx Times - April 20, 2017 at 3:52 pm

Categories: Community Information, General Articles, Public Notice, Small Business   Tags: , , , ,

Fines, Fines And more Fines!

A message from John Bonizio (Small Business Owner, Bronx NY):

Attention All New York City Small Business Owners

The Mayor and the City Council are coming after small businesses in a two front assault: an unprecedented minimum wage hike and a back door investigation and fining system (disguised as an expansion of the sick pay law).
Three very important events happened this week in City Hall that you should be aware of:
  1. Mayor DeBlasio proposed fines on small businesses by DOH, DCA, and ECB that are in excess of $135 million for the year, exactly the same amount he criticized Bloomberg for in his widely publicized report during his campaign for mayor:http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/small-businesses-hit-fines-de-blasio-budget-article-1.1615141
  2. Expansion and revision of the Earned Sick Pay law was given a “hearing” yesterday. More than a dozen council-members came to hear the Mayor’s people speak and then abruptly left the council chamber when it was time for the assembled business leaders to speak in opposition:http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/advocates-argue-sick-pay-bill-sparse-city-hall-crowd-article-1.1615182. 

    In addition, the bill to revise the law and allow DCA to review the payroll records of every business in NYC has received the support of so-called friends of small business (6 of them are from the Bronx: Vacca, Torres, Palma, Gibson, King and Cohen). See the full list of supporters below.

  3. Council Speaker Viverito stuck around for a rally however, that touts a huge minimum wage increase:http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/workers-rally-city-hall-increase-city-minimum-wage-article-1.1615307

If we remain silent to this assault – if we continue to support these politicians who do not recognize that we are their constituents too – we will become the unhappy ending in a tale of two cities! Speak up before its too late. Call, email, approach your local council-member and remind him/her that you are opposed to this type of discrimination. For your convenience, a copy and paste list of all 51 council members is below.

The signed-on supporters of the bill, (Intro 1) are: Council Members Chin, The Speaker (Council Member Mark-Viverito), Cohen, Constantinides, Cornegy, Crowley, Cumbo, Dromm, Eugene, Ferreras, Johnson, Kallos, King, Koo, Koslowitz, Lancman, Lander, Levin, Levine, Menchaca, Miller, Reynoso, Richards, Rodriguez, Rose, Rosenthal, Torres, Van Bramer, Barron, Espinal, Gibson, Palma, Dickens, Maisel, Mendez, Williams and Vacca (by request of the Mayor and the Manhattan Borough President).

Telephone & District List by borough of all 51 council-members

BRONX
FIRST NAME LAST NAME DISRICT BOROUGH TELE #
FERNANDO CABRERA 14 BX 347-590-2874
MARIA DEL CARMEN ARROYO 17 BX 718-402-6130
VANESSA L. GIBSON 16 BX 718-588-7500
ANDREW COHEN 11 BX Riverdale Office (718) 549-7300
Norwood Office (718)  882-4000 x 353
ANNABEL PALMA 18 BX 718-792-1140
RITCHIE TORRES 15 BX 718-842-8100
ANDY KING 12 BX 718-684-5509
JAMES VACCA 13 BX 718-931-1721
BROOKLYN
FIRST NAME LAST NAME DISRICT BOROUGH TELE #
INEZ BARRON 42 BKLYN 718-649-9495
RAFAEL ESPINAL 37 BKLYN 718-642-8664
MATHIEU EUGENE 40 BKLYN 718-287-8762
ALAN MAISEL 46 BKLYN 718-241-9330
VINCENT J. GENTILE 43 BKLYN 718-748-5200
CARLOS MANCHACA 38 BKLYN 718-439-9012
DAVID G. GREENFIELD 44 BKLYN 718-853-2704
LAURIE CUMBO 35 BKLYN 212-788-7082
BRAD LANDER 39 BKLYN 718-499-1090
STEPHEN LEVIN 33 BKLYN 718-875-5200
DARLENE MEALY 41 BKLYN 718-953-3097
CHAIM M. DEUTSCH 48 BKLYN 718-368-9176
MARK TREYGER 47 BKLYN 718-373-9673
ANTONIO REYNOSO 34 BKLYN 718-963-3141
ROBERT CORNEGY 36 BKLYN TBA
JUMAANE D. WILLIAMS 45 BKLYN 718-629-2900
MANHATTAN
FIRST NAME LAST NAME DISRICT BOROUGH TELE #
HELEN ROSENTHAL 6 NYC 212-873-0282
MARGARET CHIN 1 NYC 212-587-3159
INEZ E. DICKENS 9 NYC 212-678-4505
DANIEL R. GARODNICK 4 NYC 212-818-0580
MARK LEVINE 7 NYC 212-928-6814
BEN KALLOS 5 NYC 212-860-1950
MELISSA MARK VIVERITO 8 NYC 212-828-9800
ROSIE MENDEZ 2 NYC 212-677-1077
COREY JOHNSON 3 NYC 212-564-7757
YDANIS RODRIGUEZ 10 NYC 917-521-2616
QUEENS
FIRST NAME LAST NAME DISRICT BOROUGH TELE #
I. DANEEK MILLER 27 QNS 718-776-3700
ELIZABETH CROWLEY 30 QNS 718-366-3900
DANIEL DROMM 25 QNS 718-803-6373
JULISSA FERRERAS 21 QNS 718-651-1917
RORY LANCMAN 24 QNS 718-217-4969
PAUL VALLONE 19 QNS 718-619-8611
PETER KOO 20 QNS 718-888-8747
KAREN KOSLOWITZ 29 QNS 718-544-8800
DONOVAN RICHARDS JR. 31 QNS 718-471-7014 ROCKAWAY
718-527-4356 LAURELTON
ERIC ULRICH 32 QNS 718-738-1083
COSTA CONSTANTINIDES 22 QNS 718-274-4500
JIMMY VAN BRAMER 26 QNS 718-383-9566
MARK WEPRIN 23 QNS 718-468-0137
RUBEN WILLS 28 QNS 718-206-2068
STATEN ISLAND
FIRST NAME LAST NAME DISRICT BOROUGH TELE #
VINCENT IGNIZIO 51 S.I. 718-984-5151
STEVEN MATTEO 50 S.I. 718-980-1017
DEBORAH ROSE 49 S.I. 718-556-7370

Emails for all council-members

amaisel@council.nyc.gov; acohen@council.nyc.gov; aking@council.nyc.gov; apalma@council.nyc.gov; areynoso@council.nyc.gov; bkallos@council.nyc.gov; blander@council.nyc.gov; cmenchaca@council.nyc.gov; cdeutsch@council.nyc.gov; cjohnson@council.nyc.gov; cconstantinides@council.nyc.gov; ddromm@council.nyc.gov; dgarodnick@council.nyc.gov; dmealy@council.nyc.gov; dgreenfield@council.nyc.gov; drose@council.nyc.gov; drichards@council.nyc.gov; ecrowley@council.nyc.gov; eulrich@council.nyc.gov; fcabrera@council.nyc.gov; hrosenthal@council.nyc.gov; imiller@council.nyc.gov; ibarron@council.nyc.gov; idickens@council.nyc.gov; jvacca@council.nyc.gov; jvanbramer@council.nyc.gov; jferreras@council.nyc.gov; jwilliams@council.nyc.gov; kkoslowitz@council.nyc.gov; lcumbo@council.nyc.gov; mchin@council.nyc.gov; marroyo@council.nyc.gov; mlevine@council.nyc.gov; mtreyger@council.nyc.gov; mweprin@council.nyc.gov; meugene@council.nyc.gov; mviverito@council.nyc.gov; pvallone@council.nyc.gov; pkoo@council.nyc.gov; respinal@council.nyc.gov; rtorres@council.nyc.gov; rcornegy@council.nyc.gov; rlancman@council.nyc.gov; rmendez@council.nyc.gov; rwillis@council.nyc.gov; slevin@council.nyc.gov; smatteo@council.nyc.gov; vgibson@council.nyc.gov; vgentile@council.nyc.gov; vignizio@council.nyc.gov; yrodriguez@council.nyc.gov

 

 

Be the first to comment - What do you think?  Posted by hnouri - February 17, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Categories: General Articles, Small Business   Tags: , , , , ,

10 Reasons to ‘Shop Local If You Live Local – In The Bronx’

llsl-bronx-logo

  1. Dollars you spend locally support public services in our community.
  2. Our community is unique and our one of a kind businesses are an integral part of our character. Local ownership ensures that important decisions are made locally by people who live in the community and who will feel the impacts of these decisions.
  3. You can grow a relationship with your local merchants. They can get to know you and cater to your preferences.
  4. Local merchants care about and invest in our community. They donate part of your dollars back to local groups and charities.
  5. Your local purchases support local jobs.
  6. When you shop at one local merchant, you are supporting a host of other businesses. Banks, restaurants and other businesses cluster around our local shops.
  7. Local shops are more accessible for everyone. This is especially important for elderly, vulnerable and young people.
  8. You can save money by shopping near your home. You drive less, save time, and you would be surprised how ofter the retail prices are lower.
  9. You can reduce your environmental impact by cutting out drives to big box shopping centers outside our community.
  10. Your purchases help our community attract new entrepreneurs and skilled workers. When we preserve our one of a kind businesses and distinctive character, we are more successful in recruiting.

Think about all these reasons the next time you are getting into your car to shop outside of our communities. We know that sometimes it is unavoidable and you need to make purchases outside the community, all we ask is to consider your local merchants first. Help support local merchants and help your community.

Be the first to comment - What do you think?  Posted by hnouri - April 26, 2013 at 11:57 am

Categories: Community Information, General Articles, Public Notice, Small Business   Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

A Business Service Born From The ‘Shop Local’ Movement

MenusNY Logo

MenusNY is a division of Nouri Data Systems, a web development company operating right here in the Throggs Neck section of the Bronx, New York.

Being a small business ourselves, we understand the importance of getting communities to realize the benefits of shopping and doing business locally.

 As a member of the Board of Directors for the Throggs Neck Merchant Association and a member of the Bronx Chamber of Commerce, we have frequently debated the issue of “What is the best way to get consumers in a community to shop locally?” Although there are many factors to consider when trying to get consumers to shop locally, all of which are outside the scope of this text, there is one thing that people will always purchase locally. Take-Out Food.

Thus, the creation of MenusNY.

With MenusNY, we can provide a service for the community, restaurants, and any local business that wants to get its information out to the local community.

This effort will provide:

  • Local residents with a menu from a local restaurant;
  • The restaurant with a full color menu for a fraction of the actual printing cost (menus are sometimes too cost prohibitive for some restaurants to print);
  • Local businesses with the opportunity to advertise to local residents.

We believe this is a first step in getting a community to shop locally.

In most communities, most local residents will never know of the existence of a majority of businesses doing business within one mile of their homes.  This is a very unfortunate situation for the businesses that are going unnoticed and the community member that thinks it needs to travel outside the community for a particular purchase or service. With MenusNY we are trying to change that, and with your help, we think we can.

If you are a small business or you know a business that can benefit from our services, please feel free to contact us at 347 838-5708, send an email to info@menusny.com or visit our co-op page at http://www.menusny.com/co-op.

To search for a favorite restaurant, visit www.menusny.com

If you own a restaurant and want to submit your menu to MenusNY, please send a PDF version of the menu to info@menusny.com.

We are currently looking for sales persons to help with our expansion process. All interested parties should send an email with their resume to info@menusny.com

The menu submission service is free of charge to restaurants.

Be the first to comment - What do you think?  Posted by hnouri - at 11:34 am

Categories: Community Information, Consumer Deals, General Articles, Public Notice, Reviews, Small Business   Tags: , , , , ,

The Bronx Chamber of Commerce presents: Heathcare Reform Compliance Strategy Seminar

Under the Affordable Care Act, you could incur large fines from The Department of Labor!

To learn what this means and how it could affect your business, make it your business to attend this free seminar!

Special guest speakers include Russell J. Carpentieri, co-founder of the Opus Advisory Group, LLC and Mark M. Kessler, the Director of Strategic Initiatives for Health Pass New York.

To attend this No-Cost seminar, you must RSVP by calling 718 828-3900 or sending an email to gabrielle@bronxchamber.org.

April 25, 2013 – 5:30 PM

Hutchinson Metro Center

1200 Waters Place, Conference Room
Bronx, New York  10461

 

 

Heathcare Reform Compliance Strategy Seminar

Heathcare Reform Compliance Strategy Seminar

 

Be the first to comment - What do you think?  Posted by hnouri - April 14, 2013 at 12:55 pm

Categories: General Articles, Public Notice, Small Business   Tags: , , , , , , ,

Next Page »